Province and Lake.	Area.	Province and Lake.	Area.
	square		squar
	miles.	an in the second s	miles.
Mberta—		Northwest Territories—	
Athabaska, part		Aberdeen	47
Besverhills,		Aylmer,	34
Biche, Lac la		Baker	97
Buffalo		Clinton-Colden	22
Calling		Dubawnt	1,60
Claire		Franklin	17
Cold, part		Garry	98
Leeser Slave		Grae, Lac de	34
Peerless	75	Great Bear	12,20
Primrose, part	8	Great Slave	11.17
Sullivan.	60	Kaminuriak	36
Utikuma,		Macdougall	26
		Maguee.	54
		Martre. Lac la.	1.3
tritish Columbia		Mackay	2
Adama	62	Nueltin. part.	26
Atlin, part.		Nutarawit	35
Babine		Pelly.	33
Chilko		Schultz	ាំ
Francoia		Thoslintos.	16
Harrison		Todatara. part.	1
			8
Kootenay,		Yathkyed	0
Lower Arrow			
Okanagan			
Owikeno		Yukon	
Queenel		Aishihik	10
Shuewap		Atlin, part	1
Stuart	140	Kluane	18
Tacla		Kusawa	5
Tagish, part		Laberge	8
Teslin, part		Marsh	3
Upper Arrow		Tagiah, part	
		Teelin, part	12

5.-Areas of Principal Canadian Lakes, by Provinces-concluded.

Section 3.—Islands.

The islands of Canada are among its most remarkable geographic features. They include the numerous unsurveyed and little-known areas of the Arctic regions, the fringe of both large and small islands off the Pacific coast, those of the Maritime Provinces and Quebec in the Atlantic ocean and the gulf of St. Lawrence, together with the islands of the Great Lakes and other inland waters. Of the Arctic islands, but little need be said. They are known to be of vast extent, Baffin, Victoria and Ellesmere, the three largest, being approximately 199,610, 80,450 and 78,400 square miles in area respectively, but Banks, Devon, Southampton, Somerset, Prince of Wales, Melville and Axel Heiberg are also of considerable size. Their economic possibilities, beyond scattered deposits of coal and other minerals, have not been established. The Pacific Coast islands, with the exception of Vancouver island and the Queen Charlotte group, are small and dot the western coast of British Columbia from Dixon entrance to the southern boundary of the province. Vancouver island is 285 miles long and from 40 to 80 miles broad, covering an area of about 13,500 square miles, the mountain range which forms its backbone rising again to form the Queen Charlotte islands farther north. These islands figure largely in the mining, lumbering and fishing industries of the West.

On the eastern coast of the Dominion are the island province of Prince Edward Island, the island of Cape Breton (an integral part of Nova Scotia), Anticosti and the Magdalen group, included in the province of Quebec, and the islands of Grand Manan and Campobello, part of the province of New Bruns-